DMX Has Quotes That Fails To Call A Spade A Big Spoon

image

Earl Simmons is a name very few people will notice when using the music scene. But when one calls Dark Man X or DMX, a talented American rapper, beatboxer and actor comes to mind. With albums like “…And Then There Was X, Grand Champ, Year Of The Dog…Again, The Definition of X: The Pick of the Litter” and et cetera, he sold over 25 million records worldwide. Lovers of action movies will most likely love him mostly for his roles in Romeo Must Die, Cradle 2 The Grave, Blame It On The Hustle and many more motion pictures.

Unfortunately, DMX has had legal issues since 1999 and that has created a blurred picture with him in the music scene. There is one thing though, the fact that DMX was a victim of confinement and imprisonment did not confine truth and quotes in his mouth worth listening to.

Quotes From DMX

Anything that’s not positive, I don’t have the energy to focus on it. Anything that’s not going in the right direction, I don’t have the time or the energy.

I’m a King. Regardless of what I’ve been through and what I’ve done, I present myself as a King. And I get that respect from people, from everybody I deal with. I worked my whole life to establish that respect and make sure I get that respect.

There’s a difference between violence and senseless violence.

image

First time I was remanded, I remember one day coming from the studio, that’s 6,5 in the morning and pulled over in a highway and like 4 cars, you know, used to watch the sunrise. And it was in that point that I fell in love with Arizona. You know what? I said this has to be God’s country. I had never seen anything as beautiful as the sunrise. Then o met the devil in God’s country. It’s not so much who, it’s what, you know what happens and the thing that the devil does. It’s not so much a person even though he acts through people. You can’t call one person the devil. You can’t do that because no one person has enough power to be the devil. You know and uhm, it’s through all these hardships that I realised that you know what? This is God’s country because I met the devil here. Because if I hadn’t met the devil here,  I wouldn’t realise I was strong enough to overcome the obstacle that the devil will place in my path. And it’s by overcoming these obstacles that I realise that this is God’s country. Because He helped me get over these obstacles. He helped me get over these hurdles.” [Interview from prison in 2009 after he was charged for animal cruelty and drug charges]

You deserve the same grace. You know, whether I know you or not, I pray for my friends, family, loved ones, and as well as my enemies, every night. You know because we are all God’s children. And we all deserve the same grace.

I used to do the beat box. A friend of mine, he was the rapper and after, we’d be doing a block party or something or a house party, and he’s gettin’ all the attention and I’d end up with a handful of spit, you know, from doing the beats.

You can’t speak for the people unless you’re able to walk amongst the people. And how many of these rappers out here actually hang out with regular people?

image

My relationship with God has gotten so much stronger. He’s always had his hand on me. He always guided me. I didn’t always go where he wanted me to go. But He always had me. Now that I’m actually listening and being obedient, life is so much better.

I’m a blessing to whoever gets to really know me.

DMX on the Entertainment Industry (2007)

Imma speak on the thing that’s on my mind the most. The industry. The industry, man, it’s not the same. It doesn’t have to do with talent, it’s about playing the game. The industry, real niggas dying to get in, the industry justifying they don’t fit in. The industry ain’t what it used to be. The industry, fuck what you heard this?, he’s bluffing. The industry, money, bitches, hate for that day that you trying to take that fuckin thing off my plate. The industry like, “wait” but in the streets we like “get’em”. The industry, if you ain’t got a strong mind, the industry will break you down. It’s a matter of time. The industry vultures with nothing to feast on. See me, I’m getting my beast on. The industry, staying in dirt, playing in dirt, test the wrong one in the industry and you will get hurt. I’m not an industry artist. I’m an artist in the industry. So I do it the fuck I want ’cause nobody can finish me. The industry wants it dead or alive, new artists to sell their souls and the way they survive. The industry don’t give a fuck about you, but the industry couldn’t make a dime without you. The industry, I’m sick of this industry shit, the industry playing them like a industry bitch, they tried to finish me quick but I am long so I stand strong. Fuck a beat, listen to the words of the damn song. I only know how to speak the truth. You know what I’m saying, so I got a little short when I hit you with it. And it basically reflects on my relationship with the industry. This is what it is. Often, my words fall on deaf ears. Madafackas been listening but don’t hear, talk the truth but he been sitting right here. I be like, ‘where you going? ‘ nigga be like ‘yeah’. [Please excuse the language, verbatim prevents one from misconstrued industry information.]

Pray for me as I pray for you. Don’t believe everything you hear, don’t believe everything you read, they are only half of what you see. God bless you.

image

When I was a kid, nobody in my family had a car. And I didn’t have many toys. The only toys I had were the ones I would steal.

The truth doesn’t change. It was the same when Moses got the Ten Commandments as it is today. That’s the thing about the truth. That’s the thing about real. It doesn’t change and it doesn’t have to change. Now you can put it in a different book, but it’s still real. It’s still the truth.

I’m not going to disrespect you, don’t disrespect me.

image

It’s a waste of energy to think about what somebody else is doing and how they doing it. I’ma just do what I do.

image

FB: Achaab_dan GH
Twitter: @AcHaaB_dAn
IG: achaab_dan_gh
E-mail: achaabdan@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

