How the Title of a Food Joint taught lessons (Insights from JOSHUA).

image

I have seen many artistic people use their talents to propagate a message. Until 2008, George CarlinAmerican comedian” used comedy to share his atheistic assertions. Bob Dylan and Marley are also musicians who used music to speak against the status quo they faced and disliked. Charlie Chaplin, via the movie “The Great Dictator” spoke against dictatorship and satirically attacked Adolf Hitler. Ghana is still seeing various celebrities, Yvonne Nelson, Sarkodie, Efya, Lydia Forson and the many rest speak against the nation’s most pressing problem,Dumsor. I love them for propagating and campaigning for the DumsorMustStop hashtag. The mere fact of the existence of this blog depicts a mouthpiece for me to share my sentiments with the world. No wonder I recently took to Twitter with this picture.

image

Now back to relevance, my friend, who is also a member of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science & Technology (KNUST) branch of the Leadership Empire of Africa (TLE-Africa) recently shared with me a piece he wrote in line with the name of a food joint. Through the mere act of using my blog as an opium to share ideologies worth transforming, I decided to post what Joshua Korli shared with me.

“You see, there is this church member who opened  a food joint as small as half the width of my stretched hand. Upon all the names she could have given to her enterprise, she chose a name very weird. When people named their food joints, ‘Aunty Muni Special‘, ‘Papabi‘, ‘Frytol‘, ‘Hunch‘ ‘TEDEBE‘ and the others, she chose to name hers: ‘One Man No Chop‘. From the onset, the name sounded funny to me and then time went by as usual. I later realized how profound the name she chose was.  I’m sure her husband gave her such an idea.

Now lets expound this, “One man no chop“.  If Jesus gave a parable about a shepherd who had a 100 sheep, lost one and went out to find that lost sheep leaving the 99, then 1 man no chop means, the whole world is fed except 1 man. That man at the dumbster. The drunkard at the market square. The child abandoned for her physically challenged nature. Therefore, we have to go, locate him to ensure he is okay. For we will be fools to ignore such a man. Without him there will be no 100% and if 100% cannot be achieved, we’ve wasted 99%. You see, that was why the shepherd left 99 to focus on 1. Imagine you are in an exam hall and the question paper is brought before you. Fortunately, you are able to answer all questions correctly but fail to write the last figure to the most important set of figures, your index number. Ouch! All  you’ve done is mathematically denoted as Cos 90. Now, let me betray my ignorance. I didn’t know Cos 90 meant 0 till I got to high school. I met Pythagoras Theorem with the lessons of my teacher. The teacher never told us what it actually meant, though. He rather gave us an assignment which arrived to Cos 90. I took my calculator to break down Cos 90 only to find out, it was equated to 0. How ironic?, I used it initially but never knew the true meaning behind it. Cos 90 was certainly, a victim of cliché.
image

Passers-by who pass by this woman’s food joint will never get to know the deep meaning of what she has written until they scrutinize those words thoughtfully. Probably, my church member herself may not know the potential education of sharing attached to the name she gave to her food joint. Who knows? She might not even understand what she has written herself. That’s definitely one of the paradox of life.
James  1:27 says ‘Pure religion and undefiled before God and the Father is this, to visit the fatherless and widows in their affliction.‘ Feeding the poor is the true essence of religion. True religion in itself is according to the Holy book (Bible). But let me say this, if you give out of the slightest of unrepented pain, it would’ve been better if you had not given at all. Its very simple, For God loveth a cheerful giver. Be well noted on this,  giving in kind is always safer than giving in cash. Jesus Himself made it clear in Matthew 7:6 with these words, “Give not that which is holy unto the dogs, neither cast ye your pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn again and rend you.

God loveth a cheerful giver but know what to give. If someone comes to you begging for money to stay alive, go with him and get him  food. Ensure the money serves its ultimate purpose. You could do this as a test but I will say be led. Don’t just give money out to strangers. Father Abraham provided food to his angel-strangers, not money.

Finally “one man no chop” means, help that friend who is in need of academic help, can’t cook, has lost his money, can’t get out of an addiction, who is lost in the world and needs Christ. It simply means be your brother’s/sister’s keeper. Keep on prayin for him . . .1 man no chop, a man no chop. Just like I no chop. Get me something to eat.

God bless you.”

FB: Achaab_dan GH
Twitter: @AcHaaB_dAn
IG: achaab_dan_gh
E-mail: achaabdan@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

