Without A HOME (A Poem Of Empathy For Relational Attention by AKUA)

♥Love♥ seems to be the answer to everything. GOD is love. People may kill for love. Attention is worse. We have seen various celebrities perpetrate nudity just to satisfy their craving for fame and gimmicks. Here lies a work of poetry to re-envisage in our thoughts a key issue that is dear to the hearts of many, an issue of threat to the continuity of relationships. Attention!

image

Without A Home
I left that box – engraved with our memories
On our window ledge
To give you a fighting chance
At reclaiming our today
But you were too busy
With the vagaries of life
The multiplying of funds
The tripping if power’s power
And not the multiplying of
Love
To notice an open window
To see the wind blowing the curtains about
Those curtains we bought when I thought
That your word was your bond….
Nay that your word was your heart
That was engraved with our promises
Our hopes
Our yestersays
And our definite tomorrows
But I now see
That precious box was never meant for me
Only for the thought of me
But nevertheless, in one final act
Of total vulnerability
And hopeful trust
I took my precious box
Placed it carefully
Cautiously
On the ledge in our bedroom
Of the window where I used to hold you in my arms
Where I held you, my very precious person
Held all my dreams of you
In you
Instead of in a box
On that ledge
But you never saw that box
Never remembered our day
Or that we always sat there
On our day
So the box
Was left there
With no one to care for it
Just like me

About the Poet
Renaissance woman attempting to reflect God’s presence. Jedi battling mental darkness. Lover of linguistic flexibility. Not only a dreamer but a doer.

image

Visit asare.org to find more interesting poems by the poet.

Achaab Daniel Abalansa
Facebook: Achaab_dan GH
Twitter: @AcHaaB_dAn
IG: achaab_dan_gh
Email: achaabdan@gmail.com

One thought on “Without A HOME (A Poem Of Empathy For Relational Attention by AKUA)

Leave a Reply

